transmuthatio - Die Macht der Phantasie
Deutsche Version

   www.transmuthatio.de: Impressum   ebook: transmuthatio   Michael Maschka's painting Hermaphrodite   Michael Maschka's Art

 

Michael Maschka: Hermaphrodite

- Hermaphrodite -
Oil on canvas, 2016

Michael Maschka
www.MichaelMaschka.de

 

Hermaphrodite

With his painting Hermaphrodite, Michael Maschka, who is constantly searching for the archetypes within ourselves, has once again succeeded in approaching a topic picturesquely in the manner that he is reknown for – masterfully contexualising mythological and mystical elements in a photorealistic illustration – that has puzzled mankind since the beginning of time: The eternal mystery of the duality of things.

Following the basic motif in the tradition of alchemists, in Michael Maschka's fantastic picture out of the original chaos of prima materia rises, spherically limited by the four elements of our world and yet emerging out of them, with sun and moon shining on it, the fifth, the hermaphrodite, the quintessence of all existence. Based on a firm stand he holds the tested sword of the power of self-determination and the chalice of deep knowledge about the true being of himself in his hands. Lying at his feet, in their elemental force, are the tamed dragons of his completed transformation.

The hermaphrodite that only appears in the masculine in many languages, is neither male nor female. He is both at the same time, androgynous, and much more as he does not only unite the two gendered antipoles but all opposites within himself. For the two headed hermaphrodite there is neither inside nor outside, no (more) above nor below. Light and shadow, to be and not to be are all but nothing for him, as once he has completed the Chymical Wedding – an intra psychical process of the coniunctio of rex and regina – during which he recognizes and accepts himself in his full-scale dimensions, and grows into a “complete human”, even microcosmos and macrocosmos become one for him. He has, based on C. G. Jung “[...] melted the supreme opposites in the form of masculine and feminine [...] in a unity which includes no opposites anymore and is therefore incorruptible” and has “reached the climax of introspective intuition, which leaves nothing to be desired in audacity”.

In the aesthetics and immediacy of the representation in the painting expertly created by Michael Maschka, the eternally challenging duality transforms itself into a monad which rests within itself and lets us guess the archetype of the hermaphrodite as a subtle dream breaking forth from of our subconscious, passing over into our normal daytime consciousness, that wants to show us the way. But let us permit the unique, in form and colour coherent metamorphosis that has taken shape under the hand of the artist speak for itself. Let us view the hermaphrodite that has grown out of the profane world as an instrument of contemplation that would like to accompany us on the way to the philosophers gold – the intuitive solution of the bipolar mystery in the ultimate unity of the opposites.

 


© M. Muth
Last Update: 09.09.2016

transmuthatio - Die Macht der Phantasie
English version

   www.transmuthatio.de: Impressum   Das Buch: transmuthatio   Das Bild: Hermaphrodit   Die Kunst: Michael Maschka

 

Michael Maschka: Hermaphrodit

- Hermaphrodit -
Öl auf Leinwand, 2016

Michael Maschka
www.MichaelMaschka.de

 

Hermaphrodit

Mit Hermaphrodit ist es Michael Maschka, bei seiner stetigen Suche nach den uns innewohnenden Urbildern, erneut gelungen, sich in der für ihn bekannten Art und Weise, mythologisch-mystische Elemente meisterhaft mit fotorealistischen Darstellungen zu kontextualisieren, einem Thema malerisch zu nähern, welches die Menschheit seit Anbeginn der Zeiten beschäftigt: Das ewige Rätsel um die Dualität der Dinge.

Im Grundmotiv der Tradition der Alchemisten folgend, erhebt sich in Michael Maschkas phantastischem Bild aus dem ursprünglichen Chaos der prima materia, von den vier Elementen unserer Welt sphärisch begrenzt und doch aus diesen hervorgegangen, beschienen von Sonne und Mond, das fünfte, der Hermaphrodit, die Quintessenz allen Seins. Auf festem Stand gegründet hält er das erprobte Schwert der Macht seiner Selbstbestimmung und den Kelch des tiefen Wissens um das wahre Wesen seiner selbst in den Händen. Zu seinen Füßen liegend und urgewaltig, die gezähmten Drachen seiner abgeschlossenen Wandlung.

Der Hermaphrodit, der in unserem Sprachgebrauch nur im Maskulinum in Erscheinung tritt, ist weder männlich, noch weiblich. Er ist beides zugleich, androgyn, und noch viel mehr, denn er vereint nicht nur die beiden geschlechtstypischen Gegenpole, sondern alle Gegensätze in sich. Für den zweiköpfigen Zwitter gibt es weder innen, noch außen, kein Oben und kein Unten (mehr). Licht und Schatten, Sein und Nicht-Sein sind ihm Alles und Nichts, denn nachdem er die Chymische Hochzeit – einen intrapsychischen Prozess der coniunctio von rex und regina – vollzogen hat, bei welchem er sich selbst in vollumfänglichem Maße erkennt und annimmt, und zum „ganzen Menschen“ heranwächst, sind selbst Mikrokosmos und Makrokosmos nur noch Eines für Ihn. Er hat, frei nach C. G. Jung, „die supremen Gegensätze in Gestalt des Männlichen und des Weiblichen [...] zu einer Einheit verschmolzen, welche keine Gegensätze mehr enthält und damit inkorrumtibel ist“ und den „Höhepunkt der introspektiven Intuition erreicht, der an Kühnheit nichts zu wünschen übriglässt.“

In der Ästhetik und Unmittelbarkeit der Darstellung des von Michael Maschka gekonnt geschaffenen Bildes, wandelt sich die uns ewig fordernde Dualität zu einer in sich selbst ruhenden Monade, die uns den Archetypen des Hermaphroditen wie einen aus dem Unterbewussten hervorbrechenden, ins Tagbewusstsein herübertretenden Traum erahnen lässt, welcher uns den Weg weisen will. Doch lassen wir die einzigartige, unter der Hand des Künstlers in Form und Farbe stimmig gestaltgewordene Metamorphose für sich selbst sprechen. Betrachten wir den der profanen Welt entwachsenen Hermaphroditen als Instrument der Kontemplation, das uns auf dem Wege zum Philosophengold – der intuitiven Lösung des bipolaren Rätsels in der ultimativen Vereinigung der Gegensätze – begleiten möchte.

 


© M. Muth
Last Update: 09.09.2016